Archery Canada Archery Canada


Archery Canada’s Annual Awards

August 26, 2021
Archery Canada’s Annual Awards

The Archery Canada Board of Directors celebrated their members after the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting on August 7, 2021. Due to the ongoing pandemic, the meeting was held virtually and the awards were recognized on social media.

The announcements on social media saw Archery Canada recognize the outstanding contribution of volunteers in the archery community throughout the country in what has been a difficult year. A total of two (2) awards were given out, with two Presidential Citations also being awarded. Information on all awards can be found on the Archery Canada website:

The D.M. Lovo Award for contribution to the sport of archery in Canada

Rene Schaub has been awarded the D.M. Lovo Award for his outstanding long-term contribution to the sport of archery in Canada. He has been involved with the sport for more than 20 years, including bringing his first team to the Alberta Winter Games in 2002 and leading Team Canada at the World Championships in France in 2017. Rene has filled many roles in the sport, including judging, coaching and club management.

The Greg Durward Volunteer of the Year Award

Ron Ostermeier was awarded the Greg Durward Volunteer of the Year Award for his significant contribution to the development of archery in Canada. For over 40 years, he has been involved with BC Archery; he has been with the BC Winter Games for over 20 years. He has also served on the Archery Canada Coaching Committee and is a certified Master Coach Developer for Archery in the country.

Presidential Citations

Two Presidential citations were awarded to Dennis Colbourne and Lynne Durward at the discretion of Archery Canada’s President of Board of Directors. Dennis has stepped down after many years as Indoor Mailmatch Coordinator and Lynne has retired as Canadian MICA Coordinator.

Thank you to all of our award recipients for their contributions to the sport of archery!