Archery Canada Archery Canada


32 crowned at 2018 Canadian Outdoor 3D Championships

August 07, 2018
32 crowned at 2018 Canadian Outdoor 3D Championships

OTTAWA (Archery Canada) – Thirty-two national titlists were crowned at the 2018 Canadian Outdoor 3D Archery Championships held from August 3-6 at Victoria Park in Truro, Nova Scotia.

Archery Canada Website:

Championship Website: Truro 2018

Complete Results: Results

“The event was very well attended by archers from coast to coast,” said Aaron Bull, Vice President 3D Programs at Archery Canada. The weather was a big factor during the first two rounds with significant storms drenching the competitors. The third day, the weather cooperated with the sun shining for the final round and Grand Prix shoot off.”

Of the 32 archers who reached the top of the podium in Truro, five successfully defended their national outdoor titles from 2017, including Monica Higgins (Compound Unlimited), Jessica Beaumont (Junior Compound), Joelle Thurow (Pre-Cub Compound) and Robin Squirra (Pre-Cub Traditional) on the women’s side, as well as Fred Streleoff (Instinctive) in men’s competition.

In men’s action, Christian Frenette (Master 50 Traditional) and Ty Thurow (Cadet Compound) also claimed gold for the second straight year, with their latest triumphs coming in different categories than in 2017. They had prevailed in Barebow and Cub Compound, respectively, last summer in Amos, Que.

For his part, Streleoff was one of four archers to capture a second 3D national title in 2018, adding to his win at the Canadian Indoor Championships held in late April in Sundre, Alta. The other athletes to accomplish the feat were Monty Vander Westhuizen (Men’s Longbow) and Heather Leduc (Women’s Barebow), as well as Angela Hay, who prevailed in the Women’s Compound Fixed Pin category after winning the Hunter competition at the indoor event.

Below is a complete list of 2018 outdoor 3D national champions.   


Master 60 Compound: Sandie Plashka – Brazeau Bowbenders Archery Club (707 points)

Master 50 Compound: Ann Neumeyer – Lethbridge Bowbenders Archery Club (662)

Compound Unlimited: Monica Higgins – Taber Archers & Bowhunters (740)

Pre-Cub Traditional: Robin Squirra – Asessippi Archery Club (250)

Compound Fixed Pin: Angela Hay – Burnaby Archers (601)

Junior Compound: Jessica Beaumont – Fédération de tir à l’arc du Québec (678)

Cadet Compound: Taylor Dutka – British Columbia (708)

Cub Compound: Hanna Kubas – St. Mary’s Archers of Truro (539)

Pre-Cub Compound: Joelle Thurow – Cariboo Archers Association (763)

Barebow: Heather Leduc – Thunder Creek Archery Club (680)

Longbow: Jessie Mobbs – British Columbia (519)

Instinctive: Trudy Dryden – Glades Traditional Archery Club (619)

Junior Instinctive: Lauren Quann – Archery Nova Scotia (411)

Hunter: Johanne Paradis – Fédération de tir à l’arc du Québec (704)

Known 50: Christa Harpell – St. Mary’s Archers of Truro (672)


Master 50 Traditional: Christian Frenette – Fédération de tir à l’arc du Québec (704 points)

Master 60 Compound: Daniel Archambault – Fédération de tir à l’arc du Québec (784)

Master 50 Compound: Joe Sarrazin – Salmon Arm Archery Club (768)

Cub Traditional: Hunter Richards – Antigonish Archery Association (172)

Pre-Cub Traditional: Elijah van de Kieft – Archery Nova Scotia (201)

Compound Unlimited: Yves Couture – Fédération de tir à l’arc du Québec (765)

Compound Fixed Pin: Glen Shaw – Burnaby Archers (705)

Junior Compound: Clay Laronde – Alberta Target Archers Association (695)

Cadet Compound: Ty Thurow – Cariboo Archers Association (778)

Cub Compound: Ryan Chamberlain – Bathurst Archery Club (780)

Pre-Cub Compound: Garrett Manning – Archery Nova Scotia (694)

Barebow: Tyler Moore – Thunder Creek Archery Club (675)

Longbow: Monty Vander Westhuizen – Medicine Hat SAAMIS Archers (607)

Instinctive: Fred Streleoff – Cariboo Archers Association (743)

Hunter: Karl Dubois – Fédération de tir à l’arc du Québec (759)

Known 50: Rick Marchand – Ontario Association of Archers (785)


Pee Wee: Riley Spicer – Archery Nova Scotia (751 points)



Men’s Compound – Tom Carr

Women’s Compound – Ann Neumeyer

Men’s Traditional – Fred Streleoff

Women’s Traditional – Caroline Laue

Men’s Green Stake – Ty Thurow

Women’s Green Stake – Denise Gauthier